Author Image

Alyssa Roller

A huge thanks to the Missouri Division of Energy for their continued support of our team! Their sponsorship this year has assisted in the finishing touches on Independence.

The Missouri Division of Energy seeks to provide clean energy for the state of Missouri, while also providing materials for the youth of the state to understand why energy efficiency is so important. They have been nationally recognized by the U.S. Department of Energy for their efforts in achieving energy efficiency.

We hope to work with them in achieving their goal by showing the public a high-performance solar car to assist in their venture for clean energy, and we’re looking forward to further innovation and support for solar energy within our community.

Brewer Science has been a sponsor for many years and we are so happy to have their continued support!

Brewer Science has revolutionized the global microelectronics industry and directly assisted in the advancement of microdevices within computers, tablets, smartphones, digital cameras and more. They have spent over three years researching and developing materials and processes for controlling light through photolithography.
Continue Reading...

We are so excited to work with Mitsuba motors! We recently received the pair of motors we ordered last semester, which will be used on Independence this summer as well as on many future cars.

Mitsuba seeks to provide ‘pleasure and peace of mind’. It is their mission to create technologies that harmonize with both society and the environment, and their success in the automotive industry has made them widely known for their motors. Their products are used for solar cars, motorcycles, bicycles, and nursing care equipment.

Mitsuba’s motors are sure to help us in our race to the finish line for years to come. We hope to give their motors another win among solar car races!
Continue Reading...

The start of the new school year signifies another chance to challenge ourselves to prepare and race a highly competitive solar vehicle. Our new officer corps is looking forward to bettering our communication and outreach, planning the design cycle for our next car, and reorganizing subteam projects.

Team President: Ellie Lunte
Chief Engineer: Christopher Riske
Secretary/Treasurer: Joseph Westhoff
Director of Business: Alyssa Roller
Logistics Manager: Nathaniel Blackwell
Electrical Lead: Joseph Kurosz
Mechanical Lead: Chris Loo

As we work hard to prepare Independence for FSGP 2019 and welcome new members to the team, we would like to thank the Missouri Department of Economic Development Division of Energy for their continued sponsorship throughout the past few years. In addition, thank you to all of our other sponsors that have helped us get this far, and we hope you continue to support us in the coming years: Continue Reading...